Tonight's Birmingham Senior Cup fixture at HOME against Romulus has been postponed due to a waterlogged pitch.


Leiston 2-1 Hednesford Town

Sunday 26/09/2021

A depleted Hednesford Town squad travelled to Suffolk to face seventh placed Leiston, in a bid to remain unbeaten in their Pitching-In Premier Central League campaign which saw them occupying second place at the start of the day. With leading scorer Andre Landell suspended in addition to the departure of Reece Styche to Stourbridge and a hefty injury list manager Keenen Meakin-Richards once again had to shuffle his pack. The Pitmen were however, buoyed by the signing of Joshveer Shergill from Solihull Moors.
Leiston threatened first with Jake Hutchings’ looping header hitting the crossbar in only the second minute, before Pitmen keeper Andy Wycherley had to make a smart save. At the other end Chay Tilt slid in, almost making the contact that would have given the visitors an early lead. Minutes later, Hednesford Town did take the lead when Andre Brown finished past Sam Donkin to open the afternoon’s scoring.
Will Davies shot wide for the hosts, before the Blues advanced down the left setting up George Quantrell to equalise in the 27th with a volley that went in off the post. There would be a further chance apiece before the break, Brown shot over the bar for the Pitmen before a well placed Ben Hunter fired wide of the mark.
HT 1-1
Brown’s quest for his second goal continued early in the second half, shooting wide of the upright. Finlay Barnes received a yellow card for a late challenge before firing a shot well over the cross bar. The hosts turned up the pressure as Siju Odelusi forced an acrobatic save from Wycherley. Pitmen substitute Jack Chamber’s went close with a freekick, before Leiston scorer Quantrell turned provider setting up Will Davies to score the winning goal in the 82nd minute.
A flurry of late bookings and substitutions by the home side disrupted the closing stages of the game, although skipper Courtney Richards was denied a deserved equaliser by the post.
Leiston, Donkin, Eaton-Collins, Saunders, Eagle, Odelusi, Hutchings, Barnes, Quantrell, Davies, Hunter, Mills. Subs, Ocran, Godbold, Bailey-Dennis
Hednesford Town, Wycherley, Mendez-Jones, Lycett, Rowley, Ison, Richards, Tilt, Parker, Brown, Flanagan, Shergill. Subs, Bailey, Chambers, Rooney, Morley, Wollaston


Related Articles

Recent Posts